Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Nobel Peace Prize Debacle

Well, if you thought last years Peace Prize Laureate, Barack Obama, was a farce, then you'll just love what is happening this year.

The Peace Prize was awarded in October to Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo, a political prisoner locked up somewhere in China.

This of course angered China. But seriously, what the hell doesn't?

However, and surprisingly, it has also offended NINETEEN other countries that are BOYCOTTING the annual ceremony in Oslo.

Those countries are: China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Colombia, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Serbia, Iraq , Iran, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Venezuela, the Philippines, Egypt, Sudan, Ukraine, Cuba and Morocco.

Most (all) of these countries are human rights serial violators and of course would offer solidarity to a country that locks people up for being "dissidents." We are not surprised.

Xiaobo, a 54-year-old writer and academic, was jailed in December 2009 to serve an 11-year term for subversion.

No comments: